Clean and Unclean Foods

3 “You must not eat any detestable thing. 4 These are the animals you may eat:

the ox, the sheep, the goat,
the deer, the gazelle, the roe deer,
the wild goat, the ibex, the antelope,
and the mountain sheep.
6 You may eat any animal that has hooves divided in two and chews the cud. 7 But among the ones that chew the cud or have divided hooves, you are not to eat these:

the camel, the hare, and the hyrax,
though they chew the cud, they do not have hooves—
they are unclean for you;
and the pig, though it has hooves, it does not chew the cud—
it is unclean for you.

You must not eat their meat or touch their carcasses.(A)
9 “You may eat everything from the water that has fins and scales, 10 but you may not eat anything that does not have fins and scales—it is unclean for you.(B)
11 “You may eat every clean bird, 12 but these are the ones you may not eat:

the eagle, the bearded vulture,
the black vulture,
the kite,
any kind of falcon,(a)
every kind of raven,
the ostrich,
the short-eared owl, the gull,
any kind of hawk,
the little owl, the long-eared owl,
the white owl,
the desert owl,
the osprey, the cormorant,
the stork,
any kind of heron,
the hoopoe, and the bat.(b)(C)
19 All winged insects are unclean for you; they may not be eaten. 20 But you may eat every clean flying creature.(D)


a. Deuteronomy 14:13: Some Hb mss, Sam, LXX; other Hb mss, Vg read the falcon, the various kinds of kite
b. Deuteronomy 14:18: The identification of some of these animals is uncertain.

Holman Christian Standard Bible®, Copyright © 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2009 by Holman Bible Publishers.